Post-athon Day 5 Game of the Month: Anything But WoW

Well, it’s the last day of the post-athon, and that means the game of the month. This month, I picked “Anything but WoW”. I know this isn’t a game, but I just want to say that I’m really sick of MMORPGs all being the same thing. I know World of Warcraft isn’t the only one, and I don’t literally mean anything but WoW, but I kind of blame WoW for being the game that others copy, creating the plague of generic MMORPGs.

While I am criticizing a lot of MMOs, I do want to complement the games like Vindictus, Tera, Dragon Nest, and even Maplestory though many people make jokes about the ridiculous head size among other things. Even though a lot of people hate on Nexon, me being among them some times, I just want to say that Nexon makes some really great, unique games, that I really enjoy.

I’m not saying that World of Warcraft is bad or anything, but I blame it for being the role model for most of the MMOs out there, making them all identical clones of each other.  It’s not hard to make something unique, simply add something different, like maybe first person, ability to chain attacks and moves, something simple can make a game so much better, as well as unique.

You all have probably gotten my point, so there’s no need to go on. The true game of the month, goes to…

All those unique games that actually made something different, something that isn’t the generic “WoW Clone” as people call it. This was a half rant, half thanks about MMORPGs. I know none of you probably expected this, but I just wanted to get this out into the gaming community, because I know a whole lot of people are also tired of the generic MMORPGs of this time.

This is my opinion, feel free to tell me how you feel about this in the comments, or message me.

12 Responses to Post-athon Day 5 Game of the Month: Anything But WoW

  1. Tiffany says:

    I concur, mostly, but don’t you feel you’re oversimplifying?

  2. Fascinating take on the subject, is it ok if I quote this on my website?

  3. You made a great point but I wonder, what about the flipside?

    • Splandisly says:

      If you want, I could talk about generic MMOs in a post. I might, or might not. Depends if I have time and if I want to write about this. It’ll take a lot of willpower not to turn it into a rant lol.

  4. Well said, mostly, but don’t you feel as if the issue is more complex than that?

  5. Great view on this topic, is it ok if I reference you on my article?

  6. Miriam says:

    Well said, mostly, but don’t you feel as if the issue is more complex than that?

  7. Natalia says:

    Do you care if I quote this?

  8. Wohh exactly what I was searching for, thankyou for putting up.

Leave a comment